A spate of withdrawals in CPC elections

March 27, 2015 11:52 AM


CHANDIGARH: As expected, a number of candidates have withdrawn their nomination papers making it a direct contest in the annual general elections of the Chandigarh Press Club slated for March 29. Sixty eight nomination papers were filed for various posts. Only 14 are remaining in the fray and four of them will be declared unopposed.

According to the information given by the Returning Officer Shyam Singh, since only one candidate each remained in the field after withdrawal date for the post of senior vice president, vice president (women, reserved), joint secretary and treasure they will be declared elected unopposed.

Sanjay Sharma (senior vice-president), Archana Sethi (vice president, reserved for women), Rajesh Kumar Dhall (joint secretary) and Rakesh Gupta (treasurer) will hold their respective post for the next term.

There will be a direct fight between Balwinder Singh Jammu and Anil Bhardwaj for the top position of president. Nalin Acharya is seeking re-election for the post of secretary general and he is pitted against Davi Davinder Kaur. Manjit Singh Sidhu will face Vinay Malik for the post of vice-president.

Direct contest for the post of secretary will be between Sanjeev Mahajan and Narinder Jagga. Dr Joiginder Singh is fighting for the post of secretary against Chetan Thakur.

Have something to say? Post your comment
Copyright © 2013 Punjab News Time All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy